Baseball Fans, Catch the First Ever Gold Glove Awards on ESPN2!

The Gold Glove Award given to Eric Chavez for ...

The Gold Glove Award given to Eric Chavez for his performance during the 2005 season

To all the baseball fans out there, buy some peanuts and cracker jacks because it’s time to watch, watch, watch the best defensive Major League Baseball Players of the 2011 season.

Although the season has ended, baseball fans can look back at the 2011 season filled with acrobatic catches and thrilling defensive moments that all you can think is “WOW, ARE YOU KIDDING ME?!”

Catch the first ever Rawlings Gold Glove Awards Show on ESPN2 Nov. 1 at, at 10 p.m. EST. The Gold Glove winners are set to be unveiled honoring the best individual fielding performances at each position in the American and National Leagues, as voted by managers and coaches (managers not permitted to vote for their players).

Hosting the one-hour telecast is Baseball Tonight’s Karl Ravech with analysts John Kruk and Barry Larkin (three-time Gold Glove winner in 1994, ’95, ’96).  Omar Vizquel (11-time Gold Glove winner) and Mike Matheny (4-time winner) will be guest presenters during the show.

The award show will include the 18 Gold Glove winners and extensive highlights and analysis of the best defensive performers and plays during the MLB 2011 regular season. For a highlight video of some spectacular defensive plays from this season click here.

So baseball fans, who would you root for? Here are the nominees for each position:

Category American League Nominees National League Nominees
Pitcher Mark Buehrle, CWS

Dan Haren, LAA

Fausto Carmona, CLE

Clayton Kershaw, LAD

Kuroda, LAD

Kyle Lohse, STL

Catcher  Matt Wieters, BAL

A.J. Pierzynski, CWS

Alex Avila, DET

Yadier Molina, STL

Brian McCann, ATL

Carlos Ruiz, PHI

First Base Adrian Gonzalez, BOS

Casey Kotchman, TB

Mark Teixeira, NYY

Joey Votto, CIN

Gaby Sanchez, FLA

James Loney, LAD

Second Base Dustin Pedroia , BOS

Robinson Cano, NYY

Ian Kinsler, TEX

Brandon Phillips, CIN

Neil Walker, PIT

Omar Infante, FLA

Shortstop Erick Aybar, LAA

J.J. Hardy, BAL

Asdrubal Cabrera, CLE

Troy Tulowitzki, COL

Ronny Cedeno, PIT

Alex Gonzalez, ATL

Third Base Adrian Beltre, TEX

Kevin Youkilis, BOS

Evan Longoria, TB

Placido Polanco, PHI

Daniel Descalso, STL

Pablo Sandoval, SFG

Left Field Alex Gordon, KC

Brett Gardner, NYY

Sam Fuld, TB

Gerardo Parra, ARI

Ryan Braun, MIL

Matt Holliday, STL

Center Field Jacoby Ellsbury, BOS

Austin Jackson, DET

Peter Bourjos, LAA

Matt Kemp, LAD

Shane Victorino, PHI

Chris Young, ARI

Right Field Nick Markakis, BAL

Torii Hunter, LAA

Jeff Francoeur, KC

Andre Ethier, LAD

Carlos Beltran, NYM/SFG

Jay Bruce, CIN

It will be interesting to see as numerous players will be looking to hold on to their titles as the best at their position, such as Cardinals’ catcher Yadier Molina and Phillies’ outfield Shane Victorino strive for their fourth-straight Gold Glove Awards.

On the other hand, several players look for their first ever Gold Glove. There will be a new AL Shortstop winner between Angels’ Erik Aybar,  Orioles’ J.J Hardy and Indians’ Asdrubal Cabrera. Other positions will see first-time winners as well.

After the conclusion of the telecast, fans will be given the opportunity to vote for the inaugural Rawlings Platinum Gold Glove Award. All the 18 Gold Glove winners are eligible for this award. You can place your vote on the ESPN, ESPN Baseball Tonight, and Rawlings Facebook pages. Voting begins Nov. 1 and concludes Nov. 7. The winner is announced Nov. 11 at the Gold Glove Award Ceremony in New York and via ESPN Baseball Tonight Facebook page and Twitter account.

In 1957, Rawlings, the baseball glove manufacturer, created the Gold Glove Award to commemorate the best fielding performance at each position. In 1958, separate awards were given for the National and American Leagues.

For more information and highlights visit

Posted by Annette Irwin, November 1, 2011.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s